Thanksgiving has come and gone, and before you know it, 2018 will be a thing of the past. When the ball drops in Times Square (well, technically an hour after the east coast celebrates the new year), a bunch of new laws pertaining to Minnesota workers’ compensation will go into effect. Many of these new laws are changes or additions to current statutes, but they will certainly have an impact on the industry. In today’s blog, we explain what changes will soon go into effect.
New Work Comp Laws
Here’s a quick look at some of the major and minor changes to workers’ compensation law beginning next year.
TPD Benefit Length Increase – For anyone whose work injury occurred after 10/01/18, the maximum number of weeks the employee is entitled to receive temporary partial workers’ compensation benefits has increased from 225 weeks to 275 weeks.
PPD Benefit Amount Increase – For anyone who suffered an injury after 10/01/18 and has been given a permanent partial disability rating, the amount of compensation you are entitled to has increased. You can see the compensation table by clicking here, but for example, a 50 percent impairment rating is now equal to a $147,000 payment.
Presumption of Retirement Age – An aging workforce means your payments may continue to come for a longer period of time. Under the new law, for injuries suffered after 10/01/18, the age at which permanent total disability benefits can be received has been extended. Previously, PTD benefits stopped at 67 because of the presumption that the employee would have left the labor market by that age. Under the new law, they will cease at 72 years of age.
PTSD Treatment – Minnesota is currently developing new treatment guidelines for the treatment of workers with work-related PTSD. The new rules have not yet been set in stone and can change, but the state has said they will be developed based on the American Psychological Association’s clinical practice guidelines for treating PTSD. The new rules will apply to anyone seeking treatment for job-related PTSD, regardless of the date of the incident or diagnosis.
These are the changes that are going on the books, and if you need help with any of these updates or with your work injury case in general, don’t hesitate to reach out to Hey Workers for more information. We can help you with all aspects of your case, so let us know how we can help. Give us a call at (844) 439-9675.