The laws regarding disability benefits seem to be changing every year, and although the foundation of the laws remain the same, your payment benefit amounts tend to change with each passing year. To help you get a better understanding of the disability benefits available to you after a work injury, we’re going to take a look at the four main types of benefits in Minnesota, and the current maximum payments as of November 2019.
The Four Types Of Disability Benefits In Minnesota
Here’s a look at the four types of disability benefits available to injured Minnesota workers:
Temporary Partial Disability – We’ll start with the least impactful type of injury, the temporary partial disability. This type of injury means you are able to work in a limited capacity while you’re recovering, and you’re eventually expected to make a full recovery. Minnesota sets compensation for temporary partial disability at two-thirds of the difference between your normal pay and your current modified earnings. You are entitled to receive this payment for a maximum of 225 weeks, or until you can return in a full capacity.
Temporary Total Disability – A step up from TPD benefits are TTD benefits, and that stands for total temporary disability benefits. This means you’re unable to return to work, even in a partial capacity, but you are expected to make a partial or full recovery at some point. While you’re away from work and recovering, you are entitled to collect TTD benefits, which pay two-thirds of an employee’s average weekly wage. The maximum amount you’re entitled to receive is the state average weekly wage, which as of 2019 is $1,112.00 a week. You’re typically entitled to these benefits for a maximum of 130 weeks, or until you can return in a partial or full capacity, although some exceptions may apply.
Permanent Partial Disability – PPD benefits are designed to assist workers who suffer a permanent disability as a result of a work injury. They will never fully recover from the injury, in that it is permanent, but it only partially affects their ability to work, meaning they can return to work in a limited or modified capacity. For example, if you lost two fingers on the job, you could return to a number of jobs, but you would never fully recover from that injury. The more severe the injury, the higher the PPD benefits you’re entitled to receive. How much money you are entitled to receive is based on your disability rating, which is determined by a medical professional before putting that rating in a state provided formula.
Permanent Total Disability – If an injury is so severe that an employee cannot ever obtain gainful employment due to his or her disability, they can apply for permanent total disability benefits. PTD benefits are paid at two-thirds of the employee’s average weekly wage, with a maximum again set by the state average weekly wage, which noted above is $1,112.00 per week. PTD benefits continue until the person reaches the age of 67, which is considered the worker’s presumed retirement date, but this too can be challenged with the help of a lawyer.
For more insights, or for assistance filing for any of these types of disability, reach out to the team at Hey Workers today.